Succulents and Nostalgia

So the start of the school year is almost here and last night I got to meet my brand new 6th grade sweeties! It was so much fun to help them open their very first locker and to talk to their families about all the wonderful things we are going to do with the children this year! What excitement! 🙂

Buttt… with the excitement comes long hours. Lately, I have been working like a mad woman trying to get ready for my new role in KM Create! So exciting, but also exhausting! It turns out that creating a school from scratch isn’t so easy! The other day I was driving home after a long day of meetings, training, and intense philosophical reasoning only to realize that we had NOTHING to eat for dinner. I stopped at the local grocery store to pick up some pasta to make shrimp alfredo (one of my go-to’s). Like most grocery stores, there is a small aisle of florals with mostly cliche stuff like poorly-grown roses and carnations died various colors that are entirely unnatural for flowers to be. However, a small, burlap wrapped pot caught my eye. In the pot was a tiny green succulent. The feelings of nostalgia came rushing in as I recalled the beautiful succulents that were a part of my wedding day only two months ago. Ahh… the incredible smell of peonies came rushing back! This small plant brought me a TON of happiness, so I just HAD to share it! Hopefully it will bring you as much joy as it did for me! Enjoy! 🙂

IMG_5924

IMG_5930

What is something that brings you a sense of joy, nostalgia, peace, or happiness? Please share by writing a comment on this post for others to read! Spread the inspiration!

 

3 thoughts on “Succulents and Nostalgia

  1. Talia,
    What a beautiful post! I love that you took a moment to enjoy the gorgeous succulents in the middle of such a wild day. Your wedding sounds like it was amazing! You’re such an inspiration. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had to smile at this, because this time of year always makes me nostalgic in general. Something about back to school, the season changing, and the smell of fall in the air makes me incredibly nostalgic. I always find myself daydreaming and reminiscing of younger years when this time of year hits. For me, I think it’s mostly the smell in the air that gets me. I find myself wondering if anyone else feels this nostalgia at this time of year. I see I’m not alone. 🙂 I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying your newly married life! Have fun with your new batch of kids. I know you have an incredible amount of wisdom and insight that you will pass along, both academically and otherwise.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

